top of page
  • Writer's pictureSummer Contreras

It all started with this terrible video...

Updated: May 16, 2023

An incredible step forward has been taken today. I just finished my International OCD Foundation Advocate Orientation! The IOCDF Advocacy Program is a two-year volunteer commitment in which advocates of all levels participate in the IOCDF's advocacy efforts to educate others about OCD, help eradicate stigma, and serve the community of those with OCD and related disorders.


If someone had asked me a few years ago that I would one day be chosen as an IOCDF advocate, I never thought it would have been possible. I used to be completely DEBILITATED by this disorder. At one point, I could no longer read or write. And now, I am reading (though maybe not as much as I would like to) and writing daily (even writing a book!), and SO MUCH MORE!


I "came out" about my OCD with this video I made in 2018. It's not that great, but the message is there. I'm honestly a little embarrassed to share it here because of the poor quality of the video but I am including it to show how far I have come.




6 views0 comments
bottom of page