top of page
  • Writer's pictureSummer Contreras

"Falling" Poem

This post is first in a series of poems I wrote while in treatment for my OCD, depression, and grief. I wrote this on March 16, 2019, while I was struggling at the Rogers OCD Center in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin:



Falling like a sparrow in the sky

Weary, fragile, burned

To the pits in the depths of the earth

Where darkness is my only companion

A faint light, I see, rising from the depths

Like a little lightning bug

Swarming, buzzing around me

All I see are the few steps in front of me

The way out, the light knows

Just have to follow it

Just have to trust it

And one day I will see spring again

One day it will be summer

And the little light will lead me

Out of the pit of darkness

And I will be free

Like a raven soaring in the sky

Above the toxic wasteland

Where it can trap me no more

And steal no more of my joy

How I long for that day

To be free of my chains of darkness

Lord, set me free

7 views0 comments
bottom of page